What you do not see….

Standard

I know this is not the most positive post but I felt I should explain a little more about myself. This has to do with my health.

On the outside, most do not see my list of medical issues except for a few scars here and there. However, my health is not what I chose but dealt. At 15 I was diagnosed with juvenile myoclonic epilepsy.

At the age of 20 I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes (insulin dependent). By this time I was set in my ways and wanted to do what all the other young adults were doing. Not my best idea. At the time I was married and had my son, Ethan at 21. If you read any pregnancy book I was the poster female for anything that can go wrong in your pregnancy it happened to me.

In the coming years I had my appendix and gallbladder removed. Three comas, 2 kidney failures, and multiple surgeries on my ovaries. This lead to a tubal ligation and at 27 complete hysterectomy. I was only 96 pounds. Around 25 I developed gastroparesis. Which is when your stomach slowly stops working.

In 2011, I was the fortunate recipient of a gastric pacemaker. It’s the same thing as a heart pacer but shocks the stomach instead to trick the brain into contracting and not be nauseous 24/7. Only 24 doctors in the U.S. Performed the surgery at the time. It was $86,000! Long story short it didn’t work and in 2013 I had a feeding tube placed which is still placed today.

My seizures have progressed as I have gotten older. However, with my multiple health problems, I keep the outlook that it could be worse and I want to show my son that no matter what life throws your way you can choose to be depressed or negative about it or look at the bright side and positive things in your life. No one thought that I could return to college and complete it but I did and with honors.

About jenmotivates12

I am a very outgoing, loving, caring, motivated, mother, writer, and so much more. I started this blog to motivate and share my thoughts and writings. I also wanted to make awareness of health issues along with staying positive about health and other topics. I wanted to see if anyone would even read my posts and/or follow my blog. My second goal is to take this blog to the next level. I want to start a business and be a motivational speaker for any situation. I want to have sessions that can cater to businesses, single parents, team building, couples, divorces or widowed, teens, medical issues, I think you see what I'm saying. I want to write short books that can enlighten, empower, motivate, encourage, teach, and help. Basically, I want to make a difference in others lives and help people see how the impossible can become possible with enough hard work and dedication.

Comments are closed.