Make your voice heard!

Standard

I know there are many issues that need to be addressed by the government. The issue I present to you, hits extremely close to home, and can be a case of life or death.

I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes around 19 years old. Many of you know the difference between type 1 and type 2 diabetics. Basically my pancreas doesn’t produce any insulin whatsoever. The insulin I use in my insulin pump keeps me alive. If I don’t get enough insulin I can go into a diabetic coma, kidney failure, and possibly death. I have been in 2 comas where my family was told I wouldn’t make it. Things have been progressing slowly but earlier this week I was not only stunned but angry.

I was down to my last bottle of insulin so I called my pharmacy like I do every month to get a refill. I never expected to hear these words from the tech on the phone with me. She states, “This can’t be right….let me run it again, still saying not approved.” She puts me on hold to speak with the pharmacist and comes back to tell me the following, “Ma’am I am sorry but your insurance has taken insulin off its formulary and your only option is to pay cash but we can give you a cash discount.”

I have been on Social Security disability for over 5 years with Medicare and Part D prescription coverage. They have ALWAYS paid for my diabetes supplies, feeding tube supplies, my epilepsy medicine and the list goes on. I receive a letter in the mail that I need to change plans that will go into effect January 1st but till then I am on my own.

One bottle of insulin will keep me going for 7-10 days if lucky. However, one bottle of insulin is…………wait for it………$200!!!!!!! That is with a discount. I am a single disabled mother with multiple health issues. This isn’t right. Insulin is my life line and that’s the truth.

I believe that any medication that serves a purpose such as keeping a person alive should be mandatory coverage by law, which all insurance companies including government and federal, that those certain medications be covered no matter what.

I am setting up a meeting with one of our state congressman next week to discuss this issue. I would be thankful, appreciative,happy, and more if anyone wants to comment on the issue or bring up issues your fighting. Anyway we can help each other is a step in the right direction.

IMG_0268.JPG

About jenmotivates12

I am a very outgoing, loving, caring, motivated, mother, writer, and so much more. I started this blog to motivate and share my thoughts and writings. I also wanted to make awareness of health issues along with staying positive about health and other topics. I wanted to see if anyone would even read my posts and/or follow my blog. My second goal is to take this blog to the next level. I want to start a business and be a motivational speaker for any situation. I want to have sessions that can cater to businesses, single parents, team building, couples, divorces or widowed, teens, medical issues, I think you see what I'm saying. I want to write short books that can enlighten, empower, motivate, encourage, teach, and help. Basically, I want to make a difference in others lives and help people see how the impossible can become possible with enough hard work and dedication.

3 responses