Epilepsy is no laughing matter

Standard

My seizures seem to be accelerating with more episodes happening once or more a week. My fiancé said this was one that had screaming, fighting, and the scariest was he had to pull my jaw open to keep me from biting my tongue completely off! 

I have a few more battle wounds this time. I bruised my right shoulder, scratched my collarbone and my right ankle is extremely sore (from kicking the coffee table).

My man said this was not a minor incident and one of the more scary moments. He was not the only one to witness this scary event. Before the seizure took place my outstanding dog, Buddy, was the first one to alert others by barking 5 minutes before it happened. My fiancé looked over and new something wasn’t right. I fell from the couch and my mind is a jumbled mess. Today my uncle, my uncles dog Jake, and my son saw part of the incident.

Seizures are so much more than the seizure itself.

The list for me is:

  1. Memory loss
  2. Biting of my tongue, which has been so severe that due to the length of my Gene Simmons tongue, I had to have surgery to remove a small part of it. The tongue is one of the hardest organ to heal.
  3. Confusion, I have to trust what others tell me took place.
  4. Fatigue, and while sleeping you can even have crazy dreams afterwards.
  5. To me the worst part is the impact it has on my family and friends along with the fear of the next one.

This post is getting a little lengthy,sorry for that. My meds should be helping control these outbreaks. I use to have what is called AURORAS. It might sound crazy but it is a real thing. The best way to explain it is you get this feeling, (hard to explain), but it’s a warning sign something is about to happen. 

The downsize of it is you might get a 5 minute, 15 minute warning, or like I was told today, I was not myself all day.

Lastly, I want to reach out to fellow epileptics and let them know they are not alone! I am hoping for encouraging comments or if you have questions please ask. Are there any of you with seizures that have had the topic of brain surgery come up over medications? I take high doses of meds for my seizures, but they all have major side effects. Plus, a wide amount of medicines for other health issues lowers seizure threshold.

It feels all and all no win situation.

About jenmotivates12

I am a very outgoing, loving, caring, motivated, mother, writer, and so much more. I started this blog to motivate and share my thoughts and writings. I also wanted to make awareness of health issues along with staying positive about health and other topics. I wanted to see if anyone would even read my posts and/or follow my blog. My second goal is to take this blog to the next level. I want to start a business and be a motivational speaker for any situation. I want to have sessions that can cater to businesses, single parents, team building, couples, divorces or widowed, teens, medical issues, I think you see what I'm saying. I want to write short books that can enlighten, empower, motivate, encourage, teach, and help. Basically, I want to make a difference in others lives and help people see how the impossible can become possible with enough hard work and dedication.

One response

  1. Jennifer, I like your Blog, and I like the name, it says “Winner”.
    I live my life as it is given, one breath at a time.
    Have you ever heard the word “Thanataphobia”????
    Simply put, it is the fear of death.
    A very large percentage of every human being that has ever lived has had, or does have this fear. While very few authorities(how do you get to be an authority on death?) come right out and say it, all you have to do is read on the subject a short while and you realize they all say or hint around at one reason for this fear:
    People fear death because of the way they treated others.
    Anyway, I want to question you about seizures, and I noticed a few places you were wanting input, so I’ll message you, but as far as your Blog, I gave you the best answer the first time, HE IS THE BEST…. do you know why???? He is a winner.
    Oh Jennifer, Aida tracked you down and put you in Our VIP Circle.
    Take care of that young-one.
    Robert

    Liked by 1 person