I write because…

Standard
I write because…

Writing 101-assignment 1

This post is a long one but worth reading, well in my opinion. So the 1st writing assignment was a question. It’s like an interview with myself. I ask myself, “jennifer, why do you write?”

My mind starts spinning and is flooded with reasons. Where do I begin?how do I put my thoughts into words? I know why I write, but to explain it with writing seems to be a challenge. I am determine to complete this assignment tonight (it’s 11:07 PM, Sunday). I have procrastinated this entire week and trying my hardest to get all my ducks in a row.

As I ponder this question, my very first instinct is to think back to my middle/high school days(6th-12th grade). I actually started when I was only in elementary (4th), now, at this age it was more schoolwork. Haha! However, amy teacher really peaked my interest in writing when we connected with another school and given assigned pen pals, my writing pen pal was Sven. The icing on the top was that our pen pals were in another country, Norway. It was a great experience. I see that this was the beginning of my love for writing letters.

After moving to middle school (6th grade), I gradually began writing more, started a secret diary I kept under my bed. Cell phones, social media, Internet, and more were being invented but landlines, journaling, and handwritten letters made people interactive/communicate unlike now. Technology is great but it has controlled peoples lives which is heartbreaking. Look back, high school was were my my passion/love for writing started to grow.

I was very young when I wrote my first poem (10-11 yrs. old). High school (9th-10th grade) is when I started writing more: poems, notes, and keeping a diary. I have poems from 1997 to present! No one will argue that I’m a talked, people person, and love speaker in any situation. Don’t think I have something that can be very stressing, hard to change and has hindered me in ways but I tend to tackle it head on (which I’ve done for years)! I have always been extremely passionate about things.Basically my emotions would reach boiling points and became difficult and overwhelming to handle. When all else fails, WRITE. my outlet was my writing.

As years went by, my passion/love for writing only grew bigger in my heart and soul. I will find a way to write, and some pieces were out there, funny, questionable, etc.. My best friend & I in our 20’s loved writing this crazy A-Z lists about random topics, but I got to write. We even had a journal that all who came to my apartment were asked to live an entry in the journal.

As I finish up this assignment, FINALLY, I ask again, “Why do I write, blog, and my goals.

Here is the summed up answer:             

  1. I write simply because I can 🙂
  2. I have always dreamed of becoming a writer plus motivational speaker
  3. My heart and others say I have a story to tell that will relate, help, motivate others
  4. My blog was started to motivate or offer a lending hand for any person asking
  5. My blog was started for myself and hope to slowly grow it by reaching others through motivation

Lastly, I don’t think words fully express the reason I write/blog.

** I know this post is long, late, and I would love feedback. This assignment was clear in my thoughts but I’ve struggled getting it completed. **

Jen

About jenmotivates12

I am a very outgoing, loving, caring, motivated, mother, writer, and so much more. I started this blog to motivate and share my thoughts and writings. I also wanted to make awareness of health issues along with staying positive about health and other topics. I wanted to see if anyone would even read my posts and/or follow my blog. My second goal is to take this blog to the next level. I want to start a business and be a motivational speaker for any situation. I want to have sessions that can cater to businesses, single parents, team building, couples, divorces or widowed, teens, medical issues, I think you see what I'm saying. I want to write short books that can enlighten, empower, motivate, encourage, teach, and help. Basically, I want to make a difference in others lives and help people see how the impossible can become possible with enough hard work and dedication.

8 responses

  1. I’m glad you are so passionate about writing and think it’s great that you’ve created a blog to help both yourself and others! I know that I, too, began writing at a young age and really enjoyed it (I remember writing poems about this crush I had in first grade, okay the songs/poems were awful then, but still!). I think I also really became interested in writing in my middle school and high school years and really started to realize how much I wanted to become a fiction writer. Now that I write my blog, I also see that I’m good at helping others through my writing, which feels more amazing than I ever imagined! Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person