One word inspiration…….

Standard

If you were give one word and asked to write an article (in this case a blog post) based off that individual word could you do it? That was the basis of our Writing 101 day 3 assignment. To get things started we had 6 words/prompts to pick from, making it a bit less daunting, or so I thought.

The 6 words were: TREASURE, REGRET, HOME, LOVE, UNCERTAINTY, and SECRET

There were no boundaries with our writing. It was open to interpretation. I wrote down each word, multiple times attempting to narrow it down to one. My mind had stories bouncing around for EVERY SINGLE word.

I decided to start narrowing the list down one by one. Then there 3, TREASURE, REGRET, AND UNCERTAINTY. I took into consideration of why I created my blog to begin with. It was built to be a blog that was positive, motivating, inspiring, and real life based on parts of my 34 years living in this society. Out of the top 3, my first choice was REGRET, but how to write a post that you want to be positive, motivating, and inspiring on a word that is defined as being sad/down on yourself due to mistakes, wrong choices, even missed opportunities from your past. It rings negativity to others.

After reading that last paragraph, your probably thinking REGRET got tossed out the window. Now here comes the SURPRISE……..

Can I get a DRUM ROLL, please. My final choice my come as a surprise but the final choice was, “REGRET.” I chose this word because I want to let others see that, REGRET, for me personally helped me turn my life around for the better. In short, my one word inspiration (regret) was replaced with an even better one word inspiration.

I was never good at math but since this was an equation with words. Here is my equation:


REGRET = CHANGE


I can wallow in my own sorrows for myself and live in the past. The past is the past. Some people learn from their poor decision making and others let their past consume them. When all you do is focus on mistakes you make over the years, you are only hurting yourself. I am a prime example of that! Some decisions I made over the years not only hurt myself but my family, friends, aspirations, dreams, and who knows what else.

If you learn anything from this post is that regret can be a POWERFUL word in someone’s life but it doesn’t haven’t to be. I want the person reading this to know that whatever your past holds is not your future. It is up to YOU to learn from your past mistakes and take that knowledge to better yourself.

That is exactly what I did. I held on to the past instead of moving forward. When I finally began to start really viewing the world by taking it one day at a time, life began to CHANGE for me. I still have a long journey ahead of me but instead of always looking back over my should, I keep my eyes straight ahead and focus on the future, one day at a time.

Lastly, I want to share some things that I have experienced by changing my ways.

  1. I went back to college and earned my degree
  2. I found true love
  3. I started this blog
  4. I got sober and clean
  5. I am managing my health issues (Type 1 diabetes, epilepsy, depression, feeding tube, anxiety, thyroid issues, just to name a few) the right way
  6. The best things to me is I have become a better mother, sister, daughter, granddaughter, aunt, cousin, niece, partner, and friend.

I hope this post caught someones attention or at least someone will at least skim through this post. I really put my heart and soul into this assignment because I dealt the regret for MANY YEARS! I don’t want to see another person dragged down by what this powerful word can do.

Jen  XOXO

About jenmotivates12

I am a very outgoing, loving, caring, motivated, mother, writer, and so much more. I started this blog to motivate and share my thoughts and writings. I also wanted to make awareness of health issues along with staying positive about health and other topics. I wanted to see if anyone would even read my posts and/or follow my blog. My second goal is to take this blog to the next level. I want to start a business and be a motivational speaker for any situation. I want to have sessions that can cater to businesses, single parents, team building, couples, divorces or widowed, teens, medical issues, I think you see what I'm saying. I want to write short books that can enlighten, empower, motivate, encourage, teach, and help. Basically, I want to make a difference in others lives and help people see how the impossible can become possible with enough hard work and dedication.

9 responses

  1. Excellent! You put a lot of thought into this and it shows. BRAVO! Keep in keeping on with your goals, and don’t let anything stand in your way. ❤

    Liked by 1 person