What was your favorite game….

Standard

What is your favorite pastime game or TV show to watch? 

I grew up in the 80’s and 90’s and a friend of mine asked this question on Facebook. I thought it would be fun to think back, before social media, about it. 

I was born in 1981 to give you an idea. I loved to play tag, red rover, freeze tag, hide and seek, jump rope, dodgeball, and take a big box outside and play house. As I got a bit older we got a trampoline that my sister and I loved to jump on. Before my parents got our basement finished we would skate downstairs then rollerblades came out. That was all the rage! Of course bike riding was fun too. I have always loved writing so I had my secret diary with key then a journal as I got older. In school, I loved getting notes in my locker, sleepovers, and talking on the phone. I can’t forget love letters and secret admirers.

When it comes to television, I mainly watched Saturday morning shows. My favorite was Saved by the Bell! Other shows I liked were Full House, Fresh Prince of Bel Air, and of course after school specials. I loved my music and loved getting a CD or recording tapes of songs from the radio. The best is getting a tape from a boy with love songs. My favorite band/singers/boy bands were Aerosmith, Boys to Men, The Quad City djs, Micheal Jackson, Paula Abdul, Nirvana, Insync (Justin Timberlake), Jessica Simpson, and the list goes on.

Please comment below and share you pastime memories. I look forward to hearing from all of you reading this.

XOXO

JEN

About jenmotivates12

I am a very outgoing, loving, caring, motivated, mother, writer, and so much more. I started this blog to motivate and share my thoughts and writings. I also wanted to make awareness of health issues along with staying positive about health and other topics. I wanted to see if anyone would even read my posts and/or follow my blog. My second goal is to take this blog to the next level. I want to start a business and be a motivational speaker for any situation. I want to have sessions that can cater to businesses, single parents, team building, couples, divorces or widowed, teens, medical issues, I think you see what I'm saying. I want to write short books that can enlighten, empower, motivate, encourage, teach, and help. Basically, I want to make a difference in others lives and help people see how the impossible can become possible with enough hard work and dedication.

16 responses

  1. Jen,
    This is a fun post! I’ve always liked playing monopoly and I too liked Fresh Prince of Bel Air when I was younger. Let’s see…I also watched One Saturday Morning shows I think they were called or something…? When I was really, really young I watched Arthur a lot for some reason, lol. I also remember playing twister. I remember playing MASH and stuff like that. I watched shows like Early Edition which my dad also watched and I believe some episodes of Quantum Leap (which when I got older, we got the DVDs of and I watched all the episodes). My favorite show now is Friends though younger I never watched it. I think I also watched Full House sometimes and really liked Mary Kate and Ashley stuff in general.

    When it comes to music, I always liked Jewel. I was never into Britany Spears or anything like most people my age at the time. I actually listened to Disco as well, Paula Abdul, and Michael Jackson (whose music I still like today)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was a teen in the 80s and in my 20s during the 90s. The big shows growing up were The Dukes of Hazzard and Happy Days.

    The 80s began with Duran Duran and ended with Bon Jovi. The 90s brought Grunge, Alternative and Industrial which is where my musical tastes have stayed.

    I’m always up for a game of Uno.

    As for TV, I will always stop and watch a Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Veronica Mars marathon even though I’ve seen them all multiple times and own the DVDs.

    Liked by 2 people